10 Interesting Facts About Luxembourg

10. Luxembourg national motto is that we want to remain what we are. This motto came from an 1859 song marking the construction of the first international railroad in the country. Luxembourg facts indicate the song may refer to previous incursions and loss of land in the 17th and 19th centuries.

9. Luxembourg is a landlocked country located in Europe bordered by Belgium, Germany and France, and its geography has always proved desirable. The country is a member of the European Union and uses the Euro as its currency.

8. Luxembourg recognizes 3 official languages. Facts show that Luxembourgers have a choice of three official languages. Luxembourgish is not only an official language but is also the national language and is the most commonly spoken among Luxembourgers. French and German are also considered official languages of the small country. Most written languages in Luxembourg are in French or German.

7. Luxembourg is 75 per cent smaller than it was in the year 1659. At various points in history, each of its three neighbors has tried to annex Luxembourg in its entirety. Though these attempts were unsuccessful, Luxembourg’s size was reduced in three peace treaties. In 1659, the Treaty of the Pyrenees granted France 409 square miles of Luxembourg’s original 6,648 square miles. This was a result of the Franco-Spanish War, in which Luxembourg sided with Spain.

6. Luxembourg City is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The fortifications and old quarters of the city show the rich history of conquest in the European city. Initially, the city was a small fortress. It was built up and fortified with each successive takeover. Because of its strategic location and numerous takeovers, Luxembourg became one of the largest European fortresses.

5. The European Court of Justice is in Luxembourg. The highest court that deals with European Union law is located in Luxembourg City. All of the judicial processes related to the European Union are handled in Luxembourg, including the Court of First Instance and Civil Service Tribunal.

4. Luxembourg was a founding member of the EU. Luxembourg was an original member of the Inner Six which founded the European Economic Community in the year 1958. The other Inner Six countries were Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, and the Netherlands.

3. Luxembourg is a secular state with a Christian majority. While Luxembourg has no state-sponsored religion, it does have official religions in which it assists with clerical appointments and costs. The Luxembourg government does not collect data on religious affiliation; however other organizations outside of the country have attempted to ascertain the percentages of religious denominations. The CIA Fact book approximated that 87 per cent of Luxembourgers are Roman Catholic.

2. Luxembourg Is The World’s Only Grand Duchy. A grand duchy is a monarchy where a Grand Duke or Grand Duchess rules the land. Facts indicate that in addition to the grand duchy, which is a constitutional monarchy, Luxembourg has a democratic parliament.

1. This small European country has the world’s highest GDP per capita. GDP per capita is the gross domestic product divided by the population of the country. Luxembourg is known around the world as a business-friendly country, with low corporate taxes, a stable workforce, and government incentives concerning investment, all of which with its small population results in an unusually high GDP per capita.